Throwback Thursday: 1957 Jefferson Basketball State Champions

The 1957 Jefferson High School Class A State Champion basketball team

The success of this year’s Jefferson boys basketball team has made us want to go back into the Jefferson High School history to see how Jefferson basketball teams have done in the past. This led us to the Class A State Champions from Jefferson back in 1957.

Here are the members of that team:

BACK ROW: Manager R. Taylor, Eddy Krosky, Bob Taylor, Phil Noll, Coach Nicholas, Weldon Perkins, Benny Brauch, Manager D. Drake

FRONT ROW: Bill Adams, Gary Keaney, Denny Barnes, Ray Newman, Don Meredith, Dick Asmus

The Jefferson Saints went on to win the state championship again in 1959. These Saints are in their late 70s or early 80s but we would love to know if any of them still live in the Denver area. The Jefferson Sports Booster Club would love to honor them at an upcoming Jefferson basketball game. Email Joel Newton if you know any of the 1957 or 1959 players in the picture above or their contact information.

Before it merged with Mountair High School to form Jefferson High School, Edgewater High School had state basketball champions in 1941 and 1952. The gymnasium for Edgewater High School is still standing on the south end of the Edgewater Plaza on Eaton Street just south of 24th Avenue.

1 Comment on "Throwback Thursday: 1957 Jefferson Basketball State Champions"

  1. jimmy mckenna | Jan 22, 2018 at 3:23 pm | Reply

    their is a picture of the 59 saints in the trophy case in the hall called super saints

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.